Cooking

Crock-pot Chicken Curry

BeFunky Design

I made up my very first crock-pot recipe. It was kind of a last minute necessity and it turned out delicious so I thought I would share.  I always follow directions with crock-pot meals so it was a big deal that I ‘winged it’ and turned out so good.

 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup long grain rice (do not use quick rice)
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 cup water (or you can do 2 cups chicken broth instead of  water)
  • 1 lb. chicken strips or chicken breast
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 jar of curry sauce (the kind that has power and sauce)
  • 2 or 3  handfuls of fresh green beans

Steps

  1. Spray the crock pot with nonstick spray. (*important*)
  2. Place the rice in bottom of the crock pot.
  3. Lay chicken on top of the rice.
  4. Sprinkle curry powder on top of the chicken.
  5. Add the cup of chicken broth and cup of water. Do not mix, just make sure the liquid covers all the rice.
  6. Dump the curry sauce on top everything. Do not mix.
  7. Add the fresh green beans on top.  The green beans will get steamed while the chicken and rice cook.
  8. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  9. Cook on high for 3 and 1/2 hours.
  10. Enjoy!

A few months back Aldi was selling these curry sauce jars. I grabbed one and it has been in my pantry ever since. It has yellow curry powder attached to the lid and delicious sauce in the jar.

Specially-Selected-Curry-Sauces

The other night when I got home from work I realized that we did not have time to cook dinner, eat and make it to church on time. I also had a pedicure scheduled and Paul was going shooting so I knew we would just have to have dinner after church was over. I decided to use the trusty crock-pot so we would have a warm meal ready when we got home late. I remembered the curry in the pantry and created my very first crock-pot meal. (Without a recipe to guide me)

File_001

(I forgot to take a pretty picture while we were eating so this is a picture of the leftover for my husbands lunch)

Leave a Reply

