Christian Living

2 Popular Quotes that Make Me Cringe!

I love Pinterest! I love Etsy! I love craft stores and everything girly! I have noticed that cute quotes are a popular thing right now. You can’t walk into any home goods store without seeing popular quotes painted or stamped on mugs, tshirts, frames and vases.

I’m all for cuteness and quotes but there are two quotes that rub me the wrong way. Every time I see these quotes I  cringe.  Maybe I’m thinking about them too deeply but there is something about them that turn me off. 

Do-what-makes-you-happy-Framed-Quote-784

When I see this quote I can only think of selfishness.

Eating chocolate cake makes me happy!  Not going to work makes me happy! Sitting on my bum and watching Netflix all day makes me happy! For some people drugs, sex and alcohol makes them happy, if only for a season.

If you do more of what makes you happy you may not end up in a good place. Sometimes you have to do things that don’t make you happy so you can succeed.

For a child, playing video games and not studying or their spelling test is what will make them happy.

We need more in the world today to suck-it-up and do things that don’t make them happy. We need fathers to stay in relationships- to be there for their children. We need parents to stay in jobs, so they can support their families.  We need people to turn away from their sin and turn towards God.

Philippians 2:4 – Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others.

If you are only looking out for yourself and doing things that make you happy you are not living selfless.

2 Timothy 3:2-4 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good, Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God. 

The last part of this passage stick out. “Lovers of pleasure more than lovers of God”. To me this is exactly what this quote represents and suggests.


flat,800x800,075,f

Now this quote is not so straight forward. It’s cute and clever. It actually took me a while to figure out why I had a problem with this it so much.  You may be thinking- What about Matthew 5:16? “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven” Don’t get me wrong I do believe as Christians we need to be good and point others to Christ. 

The first couple times I saw this quote I thought it said something about God.  I thought the Good was God. I was disappointed when I figured out this was not so.

That is actually the reason why I dislike this quote. This quote is missing GOD. We can be good all we want, (and there is nothing wrong with striving to do so) but as good as we can try and be, it will never be good enough. Only through God will this world be saved.

Ephesians 2:8-9 For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.

The world does not need good works, they need God. We need to show the world God.


 

Ok, end of rant.

Leave a comment below if you have additional thoughts.

 

BeFunkyCollage

Leave a Reply

