Thrifty

City of Wayne, Thrift Stores

I recently started working in Wayne, Michigan. For the first time in my life, I have a long lunch break! I have 1 hour! I can get so much done in 1 hour. One day I got a car wash, visited the post office, ate lunch and took a 15 min walk in the park. Another day I went to the Rec Center and ran 3 miles. On Monday, Wednesday and Fridays I go next door to the Rec Center for a  Core workout class! Lately, on Tuesdays and Thursdays I have been exploring nearby thrift stores.


Tried & True Thrift StoreFile_002 (3) - Copy

35004 W. Michigan Ave
(734) 728-9777
Monday-Saturday: 10AM-7PM
Sunday: 12PM-5PM
This store is amazing because of their mission. Not only are they a thrift store but also an outreach program.  They hire people with disabilities to work in their store. They have a great selection of clothes and some furniture.  I saw this adorable lamp/table. Imagine the possibilities with a little paint.  The shop is located downtown, there is parking in the back along with an entrance.

AKA Treasures – Resale Shop

3030 S. Wayne Rd
(734) 334-0895
Tues – Fri 10am – 6pm
Sat – 11am – 3pm
Sun & Mon Closed
This resale shop is small but you can find many cool items. They do not have a clothing section. Parking is in the back, with an entrance.They post a lot of the merchandise on their Facebook. The staff seem friendly and kind.   I am considering purchasing an antique hutch from them. I just need my  hubby’s approval…. and some muscle.

Salvation Army Family Store & Donation Center

5875 Middle Belt Rd
(734) 467-5849
Open until 9:00 PM

This is a great Salvation Army. I normally feel overwhelmed when I enter a salvation army but this location seems to be well managed, clean not too overwhelming. They have a ton of dresses and clothes! I bought a cute Forever 21 dress right off a manikin. They also have a unique supply of pretty vases and home decoration items, as well as lots of furniture.


File_001Warning….I always recommend taking a friend with you when you are visiting a new File_000place. It is important to be familiar with your surroundings and caution is always needed. Before visiting any new place  I suggest that you check out the crime rate. There is a free app called Crime Mapping. It allows you to look at crimes in your area over the past 6 months. It really is an eye opener. These two areas are near my work and only 3 mile apart.  Wayne is not the safest area so I felt like I needed to share this.

Leave a Reply

