Beauty

My Curly Hair Routine

File_000
After a 3 hour salon visit vs. every day curly hair

8/31/16 Read my updated curly hair routine here!

My curly hair journey started when I was in high school. Before then, I had big frizzy hair that I would brush out everyday. My wonderful little sister called it my ‘lion mane’. I had no idea what to do with my hair. One day I took a nap with wet hair and woke up to find that it looked cute curly. I started to experiment with creams and  products and finally learned to embrace my curly locks.

Below I detail my current curly hair routine.  I rarely ever straighten my hair. For the last few years the only time my hair is straight is after I visit a salon to get my hair cut and colored. I have yet to find a stylist that can make my curly hair look as good as when I came into the salon. I have found that it is easier to have them blow dry my hair straight then to try and style it curly.

Shampoo & Conditioner

Sunday thru Friday= For the last year I have been using John Frieda’s Frizz Ease Dream Curls shampoo and conditioner.  For years before, I used Herbal Essence’s Totally Twisted shampoo and conditioner.  They stopped selling the totally twisted shampoo and

s1583913-main-zoom

conditioner at my grocery store so I switch to  John Frieda’s brand. It is slightly more expensive but it gives me the look I want.  In the shower I shampoo every other day and condition every day.  I found that shampooing every single day makes my hair dry and crunchy. To get softer looking curls I found that shampooing less works. I shampoo first and when I condition I let the conditioner set for a while and I  rinse and comb using a wide tooth comb.  This is basically the only time my hair gets brushed/combed.

Rule #1 for curly hair “Don’t brush/comb your hair when it is dry!”

johnfrieda_DreamCurls

Saturdays= On Saturdays I do something completely different for my hair. First I shampoo with Neutrogena Anti-residue Shampoo, I use styling product in my hair every day and this shampoo helps deep clean and get any residue out. I also use Aussie 3 Minute Miracle Strong Conditioning Treatment.  Saturday is usually my best hair day! My hair feels so clean and my curls bouncy.

Styling and Drying

After I get out of the shower I scrunch my hair with my fingers and wrap my hair in a cotton t-shirt. I have 3 t-shirts I rotate for use on my hair. The t-shirts help keep the moister in my hair.  My husband calls it my turban. I leave the t-shirt in my hair while I do my makeup.

Rule #2 for curly hair “Towel wrapped hair = frizzy mess!”

81UXnEYAxsLcatalog_detail_image_large.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

After my hair has been drying in the t-shirt for a while I scrunch my hair again using my fingers. Then I use Herbal Essence Totally Twisted Curl Boosting Mousse. I have tried a lot of curly hair products over the years and I am in love with this mousse. It makes my hair the perfect texture and keeps my curls looking great all day.  I use quite a lot of mousse, about 2 1/2 hand fulls and scrunch with my hands while I apply the product. Then I use my fingers to comb through my hair and scrunch again with a hand towel. Don’t over scrunch when you use the hand towel, just enough to get any extra water out so your hair will dry faster.

300

After I apply the mousse I part my hair using a comb (I don’t comb my hair at this point, I only make a part) and let my hair air dry.  Air drying is very important.  Any time I use heat my hair turns into a frizzy hot mess.

Rule #3 for curly hair “Don’t blow dry your hair if you can help it!”

Milani_BlowDryer_Final_1024x1024I hate having wet hair but I hate having frizzy hair even more. Occasionally I break out my blow dryer but only to jump start the drying process on my roots.

I try not to touch my hair for as long as possible. Once my hair is mostly dry, about an hour later, I scrunch my hair once more focusing on my roots.

Rule #4 for curly hair “Don’t touch your hair – unless you have to!”

il_340x270.840059542_543u

Touch Ups & Second Day Hair

If my day is not over once I get home from work, which it usually is not,  I use DREAM CURLS DAILY STYLING SPRAY to give life back to my hair. Just spray it in and scrunch.If I have a killer hair day and plan on using it for day two, I leave my hair down all night and the next day spritz it with the styling spray as well. It is important to not put your hair in a pony tail or it will crease.   12216275 (1)

Voilà! There you go! Cute curls all day.

collage

4 thoughts on “My Curly Hair Routine

  1. Thank you for stopping by my site! I absolutely love your curly hair! It’s amazing to see other curly haired girls hair care routines and how we all literally swear by the t-shirt/no-towel dry method, haha. I may have to try the John Frieda one sometime soon though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

